Are you ready?

daly008jan09

Spring training is in full swing.  The Phillies played their first spring training game Wednesday.  Opening day is April 5th.

Around here, certain people live, breathe and die by the Phils.  I grew up in a house where Sundays were for church and baseball.  Some of my earliest memories were going to Veterans Stadium with my dad to a Phillies game – he even taught me to “keep score” in the program.   Great quality time – just me and my dad.  My heroes had names like Schmidt, Carlton, Hayes and Samuel.  (I can even remember their numbers – 20, 32, 9 and 8, respectively).

I can remember where I was when the Phillies lost the ’93 World Series (coming home from a high school football game on the student bus – listening to it on the radio) and I am not embarrassed to say that I shed a tear (or 100) when the Phillies won the World Series in ’08 (sitting in my family room by myself because I could not stand to watch that game with anyone else).

I’ve been to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown 3 times.  I can remember summer vacations to Maine where my dad sat in the car listening to 1210 because the Phillies game was being broadcast and if the car was positioned just right, he could get reception.  We’ve been known to plan summer trips around the Phillies out-of-town schedule so that we can catch a game in a different stadium – planning on Pittsburgh this year.  My parents have season tickets and TK4 and I have our own season tickets.  My dad is absolutely among the Phillies’ biggest fans – he never misses a game or spring training.  We’ve been fans when the Phillies have been really awful.  We are fans now when they are really awesome.

I can’t even describe how happy a stadium hot dog with spicy brown mustard and relish and a beer make me!  The perfect date with my husband?  A Friday or Saturday night Phillies game (maybe with a stop at Starbucks on the way home…)  Just thinking about it is getting me all nostalgic and excited.

What picture was used in my parents’ Christmas card this year?  Well, see for yourself:

daly034jan091

And my little family of 3?

daly020jan091

I hope that Aubryn grows up with heroes with names like Utley, Victorino, Hamels and Moyer.  They just seem like a nice group of guys and a great group of players.  I am ready for the Phillies this year – are you?

Published in: on February 27, 2009 at 6:00 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/are-you-ready/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. that is so cute! we love the phillies!!
    my husband is a TOTAL soccer nut, so he cannot wait to pass on the craziness to his son. he already has big plans to take him to the world cup as soon as he’s old enough ;-)

  2. Of course the cheese stands alone in this pic with a green Phillies shirt when everyone else is wearing red. Oh well, such is my life.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

