What I learned this week.

This week I learned that I am so over winter.

I grew up in Philadelphia.  Old man winter is not exactly a stranger; but, I would not call him a friend.  Unfortunately, we typically have cold and rainy winters with some piddly snow storms thrown in; but, rarely do we see a really significant snow or blizzard.  And by significant I mean: the kind of snow that even closes my office and forces my little family to stay home and drink hot chocolate and watch movies on the sofa in our pj’s all day long.  That kind of snow.  Well that only happens in Philadelphia once every five years or so.

And this year was no exception.  Sure, we had some snow in early December.  But it was only enough to make my trip to Aubryn’s school and work really, really annoying.  January brought us frigid weather but little snow.  Same with February.  Sure there were some days when school was closed or opened late but I still had to get up and go to work.

And then March rolls around and we got about 7 inches – enough to close schools again but not enough to prevent me from having to travel to Harrisburg for depositions.  Not enough to keep TK4 and Aubryn and me at home for the day.  Definitely enough to make me long for spring though.

Oh warm weather, how much I miss you.  How I long for you sunny days that last long enough for it to still be light out when I get home from work.  How I long to go running outside again and take Aubryn to the playground.  How I miss you too my summer wardrobe of airy tops and fun, strappy sandals.

I was doing a great job handling the winter until this past weekend.  Suddenly, it has become too much.

Apparently the winter weather has become too much for Aubryn too.

no-more-snow1

Although I wonder if it’s the cold weather or the fact that my mom sat her in a bush to take advantage of the photo op…  You be the judge.

What about you?  What did you learn this week?  Head over to Jo-Lynne’s and let her know!

________________________________________________________________________________

This is my 49th post and I have some big things in store for this week and the celelbration of my 50th post.  Stay tuned…  You won’t want to miss it!

Published in: on March 3, 2009 at 8:25 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/03/03/what-i-learned-this-week-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE the picture. Aubryn is just too too kewt!

  2. Awwww! Look at those little cheeks!

    i am though w/winter, too :)

  3. I am so over winter too. I am right outside of Philadelphia as well and have been longing for spring flowers and fashions :)

  4. Come on Spring!!!

    That picture is sweet.:)

  5. Ah we just got pummeled by another 12 inches of snow this weekend and I am SOOO ready for Spring! Even though I dread our dirt driveway that turns to mush, I think I may go may some mudpies!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

