Welcome 2009!

I love to reflect at the end of every year on the closing year and my hopes for the upcoming year. 2008 has been a good year. I am incredibly blessed with a beautiful, vibrant baby girl and a husband who is a better husband and daddy than I ever could have imagined. I can only pray that 2009 will be as wonderful.

Part of looking forward to a new year is setting goals for myself.

1. I am going to be nicer to myself – especially when it comes to my body. I am within a pound or two of my pre-pregnancy weight; but, I am shaped differently than before I got pregnant.  That’s okay. My curves are beautiful and hard-earned. I carried a baby for 39 1/2 weeks!  (I also nearly gave birth in the passenger side seat of my car on Route 202 but that is a post for another day).

2. I am going to start running again. If I ran the Broad Street pregnant in 2007 (and beat my husband thankyouverymuch), I can get my tushie out there again!  I can start slow – even just going to Ridley Creek once per weekend with the jogging stroller.

3. I will become more involved in the women’s ministry at my church. Working full time is no longer a viable excuse.

4. I will more of an effort to cook (although my hubby may not like or want that).

5. I will take more time for my marriage.

6. I will be content with our house and neighborhood and not wish/hope/obsess over moving closer to my parents, sister and work.

7.  I will be more fiscally responsible.  Every month, I hand my paycheck over to my husband and he pays all of the bills.  I have to admit that I am not always careful enough about what I spend.  I figure that TK4 will just give me enough money to pay for what I buy (even if that money is from MY paycheck).  I will make an concerted effort to SAVE and not just SPEND.

I am positive that I can come up with even more goals but 7 seems daunting enough for now.

Published in: on January 1, 2009 at 9:54 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/01/01/welcome-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am going to volunteer more at church now that my CCPA runis over. Also, we are going to try to be better savers, our goal is 15-20% of income in retirement and/or savings a month!

  2. Good goals for 2009…I am getting back into running as well. Wanna do the broad street together? JBL will be in the middle of exams, but I am setting this as my first road race of 2009. We are thinking of a destination half marathon or marathon in the fall…would love additional running company!


Leave a Reply

