What I’ve learned this week.

Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife is hosting a carnival called “What I’ve Learned this Week.”  FUN!

Being the rule breaker that I am, I am changing things up a bit.  Instead of what I have learned this week, in honor of Aubryn’s first birthday being TOMORROW, I am going to tell you what I have learned this year.

1.  How to change a diaper.

Don’t laugh.  Yes, I have cousins and friends with kids; and yes, I’ve changed a diaper before.  But this year I really learned how to change a diaper.  I have changed alot of diapers in the last year – some much, much worse than others, ahem. Although I can’t say that it’s necessarily something that I enjoyed, it is nice to have another human being be totally dependent on me – even for the most basic of things.

Speaking of having another person being more dependent on me for the most basic of things, I learned:

2.  How to breastfeed… and that it was one of my favorite things ever.

I’m not going to lie to you, it was hard and it was, at times, stressful and exhausting.  But it was wonderful.  Knowing that I was able to sustain Aubryn’s life with my own body was really special to me.   I loved sitting in the white corduroy chair in the nursery rocking Aubryn softly and nursing her.  My favorite time was the first feeding of the morning – 5 a.m.  It felt like the whole world was sleeping except for the two of us.

Which led me to learn:

3.  How to survive on very little sleep.

Seven ear infections since September.  Enough said.

4.  How much my own mother loves me.

I never knew how much my mom loves me until I had a daughter of my own.  A mother’s love is strong and unconditional and unwavering.  Don’t get me wrong, I love, cherish and adore my husband but there is just something different about the way that I love Aubryn.  It’s a fierce, protective yet unselfish and gentle love.  The kind of love where I don’t know what I would do if anything ever happened to her.  The kind of love that I never knew existed until she was born.  I realize it’s just a taste of how much God loves us.

5  How to fall deeper in love with my husband.

There was something about seeing Tom with Aubryn in those first moments after she was born that made me fall even deeper in love with him.  Honestly, I never would have thought that it was possible.  But it happened and it is amazing.

There are other things that I learned – how to give her a bath, how to take a baby’s temperature, how to cut her hair, when to call the doctor, where to buy the cutest little girl clothes and accessories, but most importantly, I learned.

6.  That I will never, ever tire of staring at her beautiful face with wonder and amazement – I learned how to be her mommy.

aubryn-and-mommy-1

Published in: on January 27, 2009 at 5:00 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/01/27/what-ive-learned-this-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “well said” says one teary-eyed mom. I love this lesson…”I never knew how much my mom loves me until I had a daughter of my own.” AEK is one lucky soon-to-be 1 year old…she has such a stellar mommy!

  2. What a BEAUTIFUL post and I relate SO well – especially about loving your mom more and your husband too. Thanks for participating! 🙂

  3. Coming over from Jo-Lynne’s list..

    This is a sweet post. While reading I was remembering my first year as a mom, and kept shaking my head with every new topic! Especially 4,5 and 6!

  4. great post – glad you changed it up – it worked!

  5. That was such a beautiful post!!

    ~Tidymom

  6. Love this post!! Being a mommy is all about learning 🙂 My second little one will be one in 2 weeks… what a fun melancholy time… huh!
    http://elislids.blogspot.com/

  7. I loved all 6 lessons learned. Wonderful.

  8. that is so sweet!!!

    what a wonderful post!!!

  9. very sweet. makes me want little ones again. almost.

  10. […] from Musings of a Housewife is hosting a carnival.  It was so much fun last week that I thought that I would participate […]


Leave a Reply

