Your first breath took mine away.

first-birthday

Dear Aubryn,

In an instant my life was forever changed.  With your first breath, you took mine away and I have never quite recovered.

You were in a hurry to get here and you haven’t looked back.  I’m just glad that I am along for the ride.  Thank you for being my daughter.  Thank you for loving me unconditionally.  I can’t even begin to describe my depth of love for you.  When you were born and the doctor placed you on my belly, I remember that you looked up at me and all that I could think was “thank you God for giving me something so perfect and beautiful.”

You are sweet and silly.  You sometimes flirt (especially with your Daddy) and are often coy.  Your belly laugh infects the entire room.  Everyone who meets you is instantly in love with you.  I can see why.

It has been exciting and wonderful to watch you grow from a tiny newborn into a precocious toddler.  Hearing your first words has been magical.  I love to watch you think and learn and explore.  I can’t wait for your first steps.

I see so much of myself in you – and not only because you are my clone with dark eyes like your Daddy.  My prayer is that God will give Daddy and me the strengh and wisdom to raise you to be a confident woman.  I promise to fiercely protect you and your hopes and dreams.

Today is bittersweet for me.  I am sad that you are no longer a baby but I am so very, very excited for what lies ahead for you.

I love you sweet angel – more than you can even imagine.  You are my life and my greatest blessing.

Love,

Mommy

Published in: on January 28, 2009 at 3:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/01/28/your-first-breath-took-mine-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

