She came home with more than just tubes.

When they discharged Aubryn from the hospital yesterday and sent her home with me, she came home with more than just tubes.  She came home with an a-t-t-i-t-u-d-e.  Well, that’s not exactly correct – she’s had the attitude pretty much since she turned one.  Best of all, it seems to be reserved for me.  Sweet!  I never knew it would start this early.

Generally when we are home, Aubryn is either being carried around by me, sitting on my lap or hanging on my leg.  Most of that time she is either whining at me or fussing.  Maybe she’s frustrated because she really wants to walk and talk and just can’t yet?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that I cannot go to the bathroom or take a shower without her banging on the door or the glass shower stall to get in.

This morning, I was drying my hair when Aubryn woke up.  By the time I had made it into her room, she had worked herself into such a screaming fit that she had thrown-up in her crib.  Fabulous.  A little 7 a.m. present for Mommy.  She calmed down when I picked her up but when I dressed her (did I mention that we sit on the floor to dress because she screams bloody murder if I even take a step towards the changing table these days?) the screaming commenced anew.  She screamed when I put her on the foor in the kitchen so that I could pack up her food for school and my lunch and screamed again when I put her in the car seat.

She screamed at dinner because I would not let her have my knife.  She screamed in the car the whole way home from my parents’ house.  She screamed when I got her undressed for her bath and had such a fit in the bathtub for Tom that she held her breath until she passed out (don’t worry – it’s not the first time and my pediatrician says not to worry about it – she’ll always pick breathing over screaming).  She screamed while I put her pj’s on and Tom was finally able to get her to bed.

Maybe her ears are bothering her?  They told me that at school she laughed and played and had a wonderful day.  Maybe it’s just for me?  Hopefully it’s just a phase.  Please tell me it’s just a phase!

In the mean time, what parenting books should I be reading?

Published in: on February 17, 2009 at 8:43 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themommyesquire.wordpress.com/2009/02/17/she-came-home-with-more-than-just-tubes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. She does this screaming for her grammie too…. I’ve noticed that when grammie watches her, grammie looks like she has an Aubryn growing out of her hip.

  2. it must be a phase…ABL is starting to do this too. We’ve been changing her on the floor since like 4 months. You never mentioned the holding the breath episodes. I would totally freak.

  3. Good Lord! I think she is testing you and TK, to see what kind of reaction she will get.

  4. I have no advice for you, but I hope she’s a perfect angel soon!

  5. Oh boy! It sounds like our girls are a lot alike! Bella doesn’t pass out, but she is definitely a drama queen! I think that’s why none of the grandparents offer to keep her! lol My other two kids were angels as babies. This one keeps us on our toes!


Leave a Reply

